B&W Processing Advice for newbie developer

A place to talk about photography, the meaning of life and anything that doesn't quite fit elsewhere
DJ
Site Admin

B&W Processing Advice for newbie developer

Post by DJ » Sat Mar 13, 2010 12:06 am Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Well, I've finally succumbed to peer pressure and got myself setup for some home film processing. :D

I'm a complete novice in the darkroom so you'll have to bear with me. I've got myself a CPE/2 and drum/reel etc and all the hardware I need. I've seen Tim Parkin's videos so I'm pretty comfortable with what I have to do for the E6. Before I do that though, I'm currently going through a B&W phase, and I'm keen to try my hand at that, so I was hoping you can give me a few pointers.

My preference is for very smooth graduations and finest possible grain so I shoot Delta 100, I also have some FP4 kicking about as well. Is the Delta 100 a good choice?

I've read a bit through the PDF document available on Ilford's site which is really helpful, and so I bought some chemicals :

Ilford Ilfotec DD-X
Ilford Ilfostop
Ilford Rapid Fixer
Tetenal Mirasol 2000 wetting agent (heard conflicting reports on Ilfotol)

This is what the document recommended ( except the wetting agent of course ), does this sound reasonable? I'm not interested in toning and other more advanced stuff yet, just want a decent negative for scanning.
I think I understand the jist of the tables, Delta 100 has to be processed in DD-X for 12 mins etc.

At Maldon, Helen kindly sat with me and explained a bit about the zone system and exposing for B&W and gave me a much better understanding of how to use it. I'm fairly confident I know when to use options like "N+1" and "N-1" for my negs, but not how to achieve them in the processing. I'm sure these equate to increasing or decreasing the processing time, but by how much? What does the "1" mean in actual time? How do you work that part out?

richard littlewood

Re: B&W Processing Advice for newbie developer