Another newbie question about lens choice

A place to talk about photography, the meaning of life and anything that doesn't quite fit elsewhere
Paul Mitchell

Another newbie question about lens choice

Post by Paul Mitchell » Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:35 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Hi

I am a total newbie to LF (see my 'Hi from Buckinghamshire' posting in the new members section) and need to ask for some advice on lens choice etc. I've been following a recent similar thread but I have slightly different requirements.

Initially I have decided to buy two lenses for my first 4x5 (Chamonix 45N-1), a 150mm and a 90mm. I plan to use them both for landscapes. I have also decided to buy new from Robert White (don't trust fleabay).

My preferred choice for the 150 is a Rodenstock 150/5.6 Apo Sironar N

The 90 is a two horse race between the Schneider 90/6.8 Super Angulon or the Rodenstock 90/6.8 Grandagon N

The first of my questions...

Are these a good choice on lenses to begin with?

Is the Super Angulon worth the £100 extra?

There's also a big difference in filter size on the 90's, the Angulon is 82mm compared with the Grandagons 67mm. I plan to use my Lee filter system with these lenses, will the larger filter size cause any problems?

RW also suggests using a centre filter with the 90's, is this good advice, are they essential? I know it makes a difference on my XPan...

I also need to buy a focussing cloth, the cheapest listed at RW's is an Ebony at £42, are there cheaper/better cloths available elsewhere?

Sorry for all the questions, I have done my own on-line research but wanted some 'real world' opinions/advice

Best regards

Paul

Matt_Bigwood
Forum Hero

Post by Matt_Bigwood » Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:15 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Without going into specifics about the particular models, I've found that the 150mm lens is the one I seem to use least on my MPP.