The modern position with 4X5...

A place to talk about photography, the meaning of life and anything that doesn't quite fit elsewhere
Bobbo

The modern position with 4X5...

Post by Bobbo » Mon Aug 14, 2006 5:51 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

I'm new to this forum although I have been watching what goes on here for a while and have more than a passing interest in LF since I was once a qualified technical and industrial photographer. However, for many years I have been a disenchanted photographer who never touched a camera unless severely pushed. In my teens and twenty's I eat, slept and drank photography and carried the firms 4X5 kit into the country at weekends and holidays to make many successful (and profitable) landscapes and still-life shots on the 'Ektachrome' 25 A.S.A. sheet film which was more or less the only colour positive material of that era for LF.

When I stopped being a photographer I got rid of most of my gear as fast as possible but my wife insisted on keeping a Tele-Rolleiflex and my M.P.P. Mk7 with some Schneiders and 10 d/d slides, together with an early 'Benbo' tripod and some Weston meters.

In recent times several matters have conspired to cause me to use a small point and shoot 35mm camera,..albeit initially reluctantly,.. when the young military musicians who I instruct met the Queen I wanted my own keepsakes and my walking holidays in the Welsh-English border country started to make me long for some nice, big transparencies of the fantastic scenery. Eventually, the MPP came out of the loft and has accompanied us into the hills, much to my wifes pleasure and satisfaction!...this time with Fuji 'provia'.... I must admit that the transparencies are wonderful and have pleased me greatly and increasingly.