basic error ? help please !

A place to talk about photography, the meaning of life and anything that doesn't quite fit elsewhere
Ross

basic error ? help please !

Post by Ross » Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:09 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Hello. I would be grateful for some advice as I am new to large format photography. I recently purchased an Ebony SW45 and I am having difficult with a certain type of image.
In the following image I have the whole camera tilted forward at approx 10 degrees and in addition an amount of fall at the front. I use an Ebony wide angle fresnel. There is a small amount of front tilt. I have applied no movements at the back. This particular image was taken with a 150mm lens but still using the wide angle fresnel.
It is not due to light leak as other 2 other portrait images and 2 landscape images have turned out fine.
Under the dark cloth the image seemed fine but obviously the end result isn't - If anyone can shed some light on this - I would be very grateful.
The link to the image is www.rossbrownphotography.co.uk/photo_3737766.html

Patrick Dixon
Forum Hero

Post by Patrick Dixon » Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:06 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

I know nothing about LF, but it looks like a light leak. Are you sure that that combination of movements is not exposing a leak in the bellows or at the top of the lens board?

You could try setting it up like that and checking for light leaks on the GG with the shutter closed, I guess you wouldn't necessarily see a leak with the shutter open.

Paul Mitchell

Post by Paul Mitchell » Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:16 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Were you using QuickLoad or a darkslide?

Ross

Post by Ross » Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:33 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Thank you for your replies.
I have just checked for light leaks in all camera positions and shone a torch all around and can find no light leak.
I was using quickload film.

Joanna Carter
Founder
Workshop Images: http://grandes-images.com/fr/Paysages/P ... _2009.html