Another new one

New here? Introduce yourself.
DJ
Site Admin

Another new one

Post by DJ » Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:41 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

It seems this is the done thing, so here goes..

I'm Darren Joy, and I'm also pretty new at this Large Format malarkey. I'm a child of the digital age, but that shiny expensive DSLR is sitting in it's bag collecting dust most of the time, as I have so much fun with the LF gear... and I crave *big* prints. I am sorry to admit, I hardly seem to get out and actually take pictures much any more, seems I never have any free time, but I make an effort when I take holiday to go do some photography.

Anyway, I started by buying a big heavy monorail from Ebay to see if I could get on with LF, I decided it was fun, but lugging the thing around wasn't, so I got myself a Tachihara 45GF which is much easier to carry. I have two lenses, a Rodenstock 150mm 5.6 which I got with the monorail, and a shiny new Scheider 80mm 4.5 Super-Symmar XL. I prefer colour transparency but I've recently bought myself a box of B+W film to try as well.

My intention is scanning my transparencies and printing digitally, however I'm not having a great deal of luck getting good scans. Maybe I'm expecting too much. I have an Epson 4990 and I've tried custom profiling, and gone through the whole wet-mounting saga, but I still can't seem to get accurate scans of my trannies.

Favourite photo destination is the American South West. I absolutely love it there, and I'm rather annoyed that these stupid baggage restrictions have prevented me from going again this year. I've only taken the LF gear there once, but hardly used it unfortunately.

Well, there you go, that's me.

Apple
Forum Hero

Post by Apple » Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:48 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Welcome to the crowd, Darren. :)

If you need scanning & profiling info - the resident guru is Joanna but others are doing it as well.