Hi from the Sussex Downland

New here? Introduce yourself.
Oliver

Hi from the Sussex Downland

Post by Oliver » Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:35 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Hello! I'm Martyn Oliver, from East Sussex. I'm a writer/editor who has worked with pro photographers for more than 40 years, and for that reason I'd never class myself as a proper photographer, but rather as someone who enjoys taking pictures.

In common with many people, I rather like gadgets, and that includes analogue cameras; basically, I like things that work well, ingeniously and often very simply. I have several cameras in several formats: 35mm (Leica CL), MF (Rolleiflex T, Koni-Omega M, Fuji GX680) and LF (Cambo SC). None of them are collector's-cabinet pieces, they're all used frequently and they all bear the marks to show it.

I found my Cambo gathering dust at the back of a cupboard at one of my clients, where it had been discarded in favour of a DSLR. I've given it a new life, and it's become a good friend.

I'm becoming interested in traditional printing-out processes such as platinum/palladium, and their modern successors such as chrysotype and ziatype. I managed to get hold of a box of Centennial POP a while ago and I've been really pleased with the results so far.

If anyone's interested in some more background, they might like to look here.

Paul Mitchell

Re: Hi from the Sussex Downland

Post by Paul Mitchell » Thu Jul 29, 2010 3:58 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Welcome aboard Martyn

I'm sure your skills as a writer will put you in good stead for all the banter that goes on here ;-)

Look forward to seeing some of your work

Paul
When people ask what equipment I use - I tell them my eyes.

http://www.paulmitchellphotography.co.uk
http://www.arenaphotographers.com

PAUL O
Founder

Post by PAUL O » Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:51 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Another "welcome" to the forum!

Andrew Plume
Forum Hero

Post by Andrew Plume » Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:56 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00