Hiya, anyone in the Lakes?

New here? Introduce yourself.
Marmalade

Hiya, anyone in the Lakes?

Post by Marmalade » Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:09 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Hiya

I'm just about to launch myself in to the world of large format :D . It is tantalisingly exciting but I am a beginner in the true 'I'll drown without arm-bands' sense of the word :$ . I'm studying a photography degree with the OCA at the moment and have invested in a beautiful second-hand ebony 45s and a 150mm rodenstock lens. Eventually, when I have worked out which way is up (you think I'm joking!!), I would like to take some environmental portraits, but that'll be a few films away yet I suspect. I'm currently teaching myself by reading useful websites like this and a number of blogs, and I have a copy of the Steve Simmons 'Using the View Camera' (which is a little dry, but helpful).

Just wondered whether there are any other large formatters up here in Cumbria or nearby? Or are there any trips planned to the Lakes, which beginners like me could tag along on? :wink: :wink:

Look forward to 'hanging out' around here!!

Penny

PAUL O
Founder

Re: Hiya, anyone in the Lakes?

Post by PAUL O » Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:48 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Hi and welcome to the forum! Great choice of camera/lens! There are quite a few LF'ers "up North" who will (I'm sure) say hello! We are about due another workshop so watch this space ... :)

Marmalade

Post by Marmalade » Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:09 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Thanks Paul, look forward to hearing more.....

Trevor Crone

Post by Trevor Crone » Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:36 am Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Hi Penny, from one Ebony user to another a warm welcome to the forum and LF photography - a most rewarding pursuit if I may say so.

Sadly I'm a long way from Cumbria (London) but if I can help in any way just PM me and I will try to help if possible.

Marmalade

Post by Marmalade » Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:11 am Etc/GMT-1+01:00