Hello from Aberdeenshire

New here? Introduce yourself.
Lucy Telford

Hello from Aberdeenshire

Post by Lucy Telford » Thu May 26, 2011 4:15 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Hi, I'm Lucy and I am hoping that one of these days I might know enough to start posting some questions on here... ;-) I'm new to LF photography and have a Speed Graphic which I am loving and I can tell I'm in it for the long haul.

David Rees
Forum Hero

Re: Hello from Aberdeenshire

Post by David Rees » Thu May 26, 2011 4:46 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Lucy,

Welcome to the forum. This is definitely the place to ask questions--that's how I learned how to do large format. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Ask your questions when you need answers; there's no threshold of knowledge you need to have before seeking advice.

We do get together now and then, both formally and informally; watch out for posts from people who are going somewhere, and invite others to join in if they want. We're a relatively rare breed, us LFers, and it's always nice to meet up, chat, drink tea, moan about the weather, and occasionally expose film! :)

Regards,

David.

John Hamlen

Post by John Hamlen » Mon May 30, 2011 11:31 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Welcome Lucy ..... and hello back from way down south.
Congrats on the Speed Graphic. I met a trader at the Photographica Fair in London last week. He was showing me the most amazing lens - Kodak 7inch Aero Ektar f2.5(!) - and explaining about how it was a WWII lens, was radioactive(!), and that people were putting them on Speed Graphics. Almost made me want a Speed Graphic just to have something that looked like this http://www.flickr.com/photos/stophoto/5501128651/ :)
All the best,
John

Lucy Telford

Post by Lucy Telford » Wed Jun 01, 2011 8:51 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

John Hamlen wrote:Welcome Lucy ..... and hello back from way down south.