Hi from NW London

New here? Introduce yourself.
Chaim Frankel

Hi from NW London

Post by Chaim Frankel » Mon Jun 20, 2011 7:30 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Hi I'm Chaim from North West London. I've just finished my 2nd year of a photography degree at Middlesex university. Until now I've been using a Mamiya c330 mainly - I love the square format and using a waist-level finder, but for my final year at uni I want to get into LF photography. I've bought a used Sinar F2 and am in the process of adding the other bits of kit that I'll need. I enjoy documentary photography (not the best choice for LF I know :) ) and fine-art landscapes and details, both b&w and colour. I like details a lot, the things you might miss if you don't look carefully enough! Anyway, I'm pretty new to LF so looking forward to interacting with you guys here and learning from your experience and hopefully contributing something of myself too!

Newbie question :? - What do you do with the exposed sheets in the dark slides when you want to take them to be developed? What do you pack them in to keep them light-tight? Cheers!

John Hamlen

Re: Hi from NW London

Post by John Hamlen » Mon Jun 20, 2011 10:38 pm Etc/GMT-1+01:00

Welcome Chaim.
I'm an LF newbie myself, so won't be able to answer any processing questions (yet :) ). Still gathering together the "kit" as well. Dark cloth arrived today :-). Totally agree re: square format and the C330 is a lovely camera.
How are you enjoying Middlesex. It has a great reputation re: photography education. I noticed that 2 or 3 of its students were shortlisted for the Taylor-Wessing Portrait Prize last year. Quite and achievement, though the T-W "aesthetic" certainly isn't my cup of tea!
Why not use LF for documentary?! You should do it, even if just for the fact that few others are :-) After all, all of Bruce Davidson's East 100th Street photos were shot on 4x5. All the best, John

Paul Mitchell

Post by Paul Mitchell » Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:07 am Etc/GMT-1+01:00